Schools  |  Homeschools

 Sign In

Blog
Meetings

Grade 1 DVD with Books

352427
Grade 1 DVD with Books

Step 1: Choose Format

OnlineDVDHard Drive

Step 2: Include textbooks and tests?

YesNo

Step 3: Choose Elective(s) and Customize Your Kit (optional)

 

Customize up to two courses per grade level.

When you are finished customizing please click "Add to Cart." Elective courses do not count against total substitutions.

 
 
 
 
 
Reset   Customize
$879.00


Grade 1 for Distance Learning

Lease a Grade 1 DVD Kit and get access to all the following Distance Learning courses:

  • Heritage Studies 1 introduces your child to fundamental concepts related to geography, economics, and culture, within the context of American history from pre-Columbus days through the time of the Pilgrims in 1682.
  • Phonics and English 1 directs your student in their continuing development of understanding word meanings and communicating effectively.
  • Spelling 1 uses the recall-study-recall-study-recall learning method to teach word structure to your first grader.
  • Math 1 places an emphasis on understanding mathematical concepts through the study of manipulatives while touching on the abstract.
  • Science 1 gives the student an understanding of the concepts of gravity, force, plants, states of matter, animals, teeth, sound, and weather.

About Distance Learning DVD

BJU Press Distance Learning on DVD will provide your homeschooled first grader with a unique, excellent education. You won’t have to worry about learning gaps—our curriculum has been thoroughly researched and developed by a team of authors with experience in education as well as specific subject matters. Expert teachers will teach directly to your child and present concepts in a fun, engaging, and memorable way.

What's Included

When you purchase the Grade 1 Distance Learning DVD Kit, you receive:

  • DVDs containing the distance learning content (you will need to return these in 13 months)
  • Essential textbooks for each course. (Check the Contents tab for the full list.)
  • Parent Guide and Student Worksheets Packet that contain all the teacher support materials and answer keys you need

Although printed Teacher Editions are not included in this kit, you will have access to them by logging into your bjupresshomeschool.com account. If you desire to have a printed Teacher’s Edition, please contact Customer Service for special pricing.

* Unless otherwise noted, kits may not have any partial returns or substitutions.

Included Courses

Your distance learning kit includes the following by default. More details
  • thumbnail

    Heritage Studies 1 DVD with Books (2nd ed.)

    Learn about Vikings, Columbus, Plymouth Plantation trading, Native Americans, and early homes and schools. Set sail as you learn about the New World from the pre-1000 to 1600s.

  • thumbnail

    Phonics & English, Reading, Handwriting 1 DVD with Books (3rd ed.)

    Exciting theme lessons combine phonics, reading, listening, comprehension, creative writing and grammar. Covers short and long vowels, single consonant blends, diagraphs, r-influenced vowels, special vowel sounds, silent consonants and more.

  • thumbnail

    Spelling 1 DVD with Books (2nd ed.)

    Focuses on application through studying generalizations and using spelling as a tool for communication. Guided activities help your student learn word structures and dictionary skills.

  • thumbnail

    Math 1 DVD with Books (3rd ed.)

    Uses manipulatives and real-life experiences to teach place value, addition, subtraction, geometry, time, money, measurements, and fractions–all with engaging themes and characters.

  • thumbnail

    Science 1 DVD with Books (3rd ed.)

    Focuses on establishing a foundation of science facts and skills for further science learning. Topics include the following: senses, the weather, seasons, health and safety, animals, matter, sound, plants, and pushes and pulls.

Printed Teacher’s Editions are not included with this kit. A complete copy of the Teacher’s Edition (formerly TE on CD) and the Teacher’s Toolkit CD as well as files for printing materials from the Teacher Support Materials CD are available by logging into your account. If you desire a printed Teacher Edition, please contact Customer Service for special pricing.

All DVD and Hard Drive Distance Learning kits now include a Parent Guide as well as a Student Worksheets Packet which have all of the teacher support materials and answer keys needed for the subject(s).


Spelling 1 DVD with Books (2nd ed.)
Item # Title
412288Distance Learning Grade 1 Spelling Parent Guide 2016
408732DLO Grade 1 Spelling Student Handouts 15
278481Spelling 1 Student Worktext (2nd ed.)
362772DL SPELLING 1 DVD MOD 09
Also Includes
Item # Title
423103Grade 1 Video Lesson Guide 17

Mrs. Sarah Lawson, BS

Mrs. Sarah Lawson, a course instructor for BJU Press Distance LearningMrs. Lawson previously taught kindergarten for four years. "One of my goals in teaching is to help your child feel successful at his present level and to encourage him to improve. Throughout the lessons, we talk about simple yet extremely important concepts, such as ‘God made me special,’ and ‘God gave me the Bible.’ I enjoy talking about these things with the children through the lessons. I wanted to be a teacher from the time I was a little girl, and I’m thankful to the Lord for letting me teach your child through this Distance Learning program."

 

Mrs. Andrea Lindstrom Hall, BS

Miss Andrea Lindstrom, a course instructor for BJU Press Distance LearningMrs. Hall (formerly Miss Lindstrom) has three years’ experience teaching in a first-grade classroom. "Ever since I was a little girl, I have loved school and loved learning. It is exciting to work with young children because they are naturally curious and are interested in many things. I want to encourage a child’s natural curiosity, and I want to develop in him a desire to learn for life. I want him to learn not just to acquire knowledge but to use his knowledge to serve and honor the Lord."

 

Mrs. Debra Overly, BS, MS

Mrs. Debra Overly, a course instructor for BJU Press Distance LearningMrs. Overly, a mother of three, has experience teaching several elementary grades. "I want to encourage each child to look forward to learning each day and also to provide sufficient practice and review activities to help alleviate mom’s workload. Most importantly, I want to present Christ in each subject that I teach. Each child should hear the gospel and then see in a very practical way how it can change a sinner."

 

Mrs. Evanna Walker, BS

Mrs. Evanna Walker, a course instructor for BJU Press Distance LearningMrs. Walker has eight years’ experience teaching first grade at Bob Jones Elementary School. “My first love is to teach a child to read-primarily so that he can read God’s Word for himself and share it with others. He should be able to appreciate what he reads, draw conclusions, and make value judgments to become a thinker.”

 
  • Author - BJU Press Distance Learning
  • Format - Distance Learning by DVD
  • Grade Level - 1
  • Publisher - BJU Press
Grade 1 DVD with Books is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 23.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the first grade is perfectly laid out! There is so much learning in this program that is fun! From coloring, crafts, and visual aids! Huge confidence booster for a first grader when learning is fun and rewarding.
Date published: 2015-11-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from No more tears! My daughter was struggling in school. Nothing was "clicking". We were trying 1st grade for the second time and getting nowhere. A friend recommended a change of curriculum, namely BJU Press! It's just what we needed. One-on-one with the teacher, lots of hands on activity, and visual learning. We are 5 weeks in and it is amazing how much she has learned. We love Math and Reading now! No more tears!!!
Date published: 2015-06-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful, but had to ease in slowly I am a former teacher, so I was very picky when I was looking for curriculum. I LOVE the product, however, I have young twin boys and so we have had to ease into the program and take lots of breaks to be successful. :-)
Date published: 2014-10-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We are enjoying BJUP!! It is funny you just sent me this as i was thinking i should write to you to tell what I thought of the curriculum......As it is my first time using BJUP or any other formal curriculum it took about 4 weeks for my to find my groove and to get well aquainted with the program. My daughter for the most part enjoys it but like lots of children doesn't always want to do the worktext LOL~ I find that now I have gotten used to the program I enjoy the routine of it. We enjoy the teachers and their special visitors and so much more. I do find that at this point in the game that i need to really be present for much of the sessions as to keep my daughter on track or to pause the program for her so that she doesn't fall behind but i expected that at her age that i would still need to be close at hand for much of it. I would think that it would be hard if i had more than one child to deal with. We are enjoying much of the programing but i was just thinking the other day that I would like it if there was built in days into the program for a day off for a field trip or something. I realize however that i could do that but i don't want to divert from the program and get behind!! Also one idea that I would love as a homescool mom is if there was an option of when following the program the way it is laid out in the course outline, to have the sessions for each day together on disk so that you don't have to go back and forth to the dvd machine all day.... I realize that this may not work for everyone but for parents who want to do it that way it would make things much simpler if all the days sessions were back to back on the disk. I gave only 4 out of 5 stars for valure because i find it is quite expensive but being that I don't i much to comapre with I am not totally sure !! I gave 3 out 5 for Ease of use because It took quite a while for me to figure it out ...an detailed instructional video would have helped. Also the fact that i have to switch dvd's five times a day is a drag! Otherwise i am glad we got BJUP and hope that we will be able to continue with it throught my daughters education! Thanks
Date published: 2014-10-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great curriculum Great Christian curriculum on DVD. I was disappointed they switched to the Parent Guide sheets rather than the original Teachers Editions they've been sending me so faithfully the previous 4 years when buying the DVD kits. It is nice to not have to print out all the extra sheets they now send along tho! Also seems kind of a waste that my fifth grader isn't even expected to complete her entire math work text each day, so then there's no answers in the PG sheets for those unassigned problems. But I do love the great teaching they do overall! Happy with what & how my kids are learning :)
Date published: 2014-10-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Overall we are happy! I love that it's colorful and fun! I like the hands on and manipulatives . Sometimes I feel it's a little too easy and out dated. I don't want to skip anything though? I like that the teachers packet and worksheets are already printed for you now. Last year it was hard to look for whatever sheet or copier isn't working or out of paper? ;( so that has been a lot better!! Thank you!;)
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent teaching and materials! This is an outstanding curriculum! We greatly appreciate the emphasis that BJU Press places on deep learning rather than just surface learning. For example, the 1st grade reading does not just teach the student to decode phonetics. It does an excellent job teaching reading comprehension. All of the teachers do a wonderful job explaining and illustrating the material. They are obviously very experienced teachers. They have become a loved part of our child's life. The DVDs do not just show a teacher standing and lecturing. They include endless visual objects, puppets, crafts, and pictorial and video tours of interesting things related to the lesson. The lessons are very interesting to watch! We are very thankful for the godly manner of the teachers, and the well thought out integration of the Bible into the lessons. All of the student materials are of very good quality. The work text papers are interesting and visually appealing. The materials are well laid out for the parent facilitating this curriculum. I found it very helpful that each subject comes with an orientation lesson for the parent to watch in which the teacher explains how the lessons will work and how to have all the materials prepared for the student each day. And there is a lesson plan for each day of each subject (called the Mom's Minutes) that is very helpful in being ready for each day.
Date published: 2014-04-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from better viewed on smaller tv 5 stars for the academics, Bible integration, etc is excellent. Lots of teacher for the $$. Getting phonics, reading, handwriting & composition. Great value! I was really hoping to show the class on our 29" tv, but the picture comes out rather pixelated (is a new tv). When I played it on our computer screen it was just fine. Disappointed takes to 4
Date published: 2013-09-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Waste of time and money I purchased this curriculum, thinking that it would be great for my daughter to use the DVD lessons because I was very busy with my 2-year-old special needs son. I had a HORRIBLE experience with this program! There is so much time wasted in the lessons on DVD and I ended up having to explain it all to her again and walk her through her work texts. Also, there are WAY too many crafts incorporated into the lessons, which wastes a lot of time and money purchasing the craft materials you'll need. In addition to all of this, the program had false information regarding the Catholic church, of which I am a devout member. I understand this isn't a Catholic program, but the information was actually FALSE! I will never use Bob Jones again for any of my children, nor would I recommend it to anyone.
Date published: 2013-08-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome We love the BJU materials! I was so nervous about homeschooling, but Bob Jones makes it easy!
Date published: 2013-08-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product!! This is my first year home schooling and I loved this curriculum!!! I have other children and will DEFINITELY use this same program for them!!! I loved how the Bible was talked about throughout each subject. The teachers were really good too. Also had lots of fun interactive projects including cooking stuff and a spanish lesson!!
Date published: 2013-06-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from DVD curriculum Overall, the curriculum is very good. Two things I wish will be improved is the volume of the disc when played in the computer. It is hardly discernible. Secondly, to get to a specific part of part the lesson you have to rewind the disc all the way through to get to a specific part which is very time-consuming.
Date published: 2013-06-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Best Homeschool Program!! This was my first year homeschooling my twins. I cannot say enough good things about this program! I researched a lot of programs before finally deciding on BJU's dvd program. It was different and I thought my twin boys would do well with the "one on one' format. It completely exceeded my expectations!! I love that each class has a different teacher and a different feel. The books and textbooks are first class and there are a lot of teacher/parent supports. The Bible in included in every class and lesson. I would recommend buying the Printed Teacher Support Materials....I photo copied A LOT! I didn't buy those for 1st grade, but I will be for 2nd grade. All in all...I have recommend this dvd program to everyone I know that homeschools or would like to homeschool. My boys just got tested and they are above their grade because of BJU Distant Learning Program!
Date published: 2013-05-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Homeschooling with peace of mind I've been a homeschooling mom now for 6 years. I started when my oldest daughter was going in the ninth grade. I tried many different homeschooling methods and many different curriculum products. I found myself at my wits end trying to pull everything together and with some methods I was going crazy trying to figure out what to teach when and how. My daughter has since graduated home high school but I have another child who just started first grade. I was once again trying something different and once again found myself frazzled. In the middle of the so called school year I started researching more ways to homeschool and came across BJU press via Ken Ham's endorsement. I was leaning towards a distance learning program and after many weeks of contemplating and reading about BJU homeschool distance learning, I took the dive. I am so glad I did! I finally feel like something is working. I just don't have the time to sit down and teach my son the core education he needs. With the distance learning program, I have become only the teachers helper which is such a RELIEF for me. I love how BJU set up a daily schedule that lists all the materials I will need for that day. I don't have to hunt through each teachers manual to find such crucial information. The best part is my son is receiving a strong biblical education. I am very pleased! If you feel overwhelmed, do try distance learning. I rated the quality of this product only four stars because some of the DVD's have a low picture quality. You can still see everything, it's just a nuisance being slightly blurry. I'm not even viewing them on a high def tv. P.S. I love Mr's Walker and her teaching tips
Date published: 2013-02-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased with this purchase This curriculum saved my sanity when we had a new addition to the family who joined us by adoption. Her needs were detrimental to my ability to work with my older daughter. My daughter now has a wonderful teacher that she loves to listen to on the DVDs. She feels like she knows Mrs. Walker personally and is happy to do everything she says. I am still able to oversee the process and help with homework so I can enjoy having a part in the education of my older child without being overwhelmed by the needs of the little one.
Date published: 2013-02-13
  • y_2017, m_7, d_25, h_23
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_1.0.0-hotfix-1
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_23
  • loc_en_US, sid_352427_10151, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bobjonesuniversitypress
© 2017 BJU Press