Schools  |  Homeschools

 Sign In



Grade 5 DVD with Books

Grade 5 DVD with Books

Step 1: Choose Format

OnlineDVDHard Drive

Step 2: Include textbooks and tests?


Step 3: Choose Elective(s) and Customize Your Kit (optional)


Customize up to two courses per grade level.

When you are finished customizing please click "Add to Cart." Elective courses do not count against total substitutions.

Reset   Customize

Grade 5 for Distance Learning

Lease a Grade 5 DVD Kit and get access to all the following Distance Learning courses:

  • Bible Truths 5 presents a chronological study of Old and Testament events within themes such asBuilding Godly Character and Obedience.
  • Heritage Studies 5 is a two-semester course that continues the narrative of American history from the development of the automobile in the late 1800s through the inauguration of President Obama in 2009.
  • English 5 continues the grammatical study of sentences, nouns, pronouns, verbs, adjectives, adverbs, prepositions, conjunctions, and reference skills.
  • Spelling 5 reinforces spelling concepts through weekly journal writings.
  • Reading 5 strengthens a student’s reading, higher-level thinking skills, and critical reasoning skills.
  • Math 5 emphasizes the understanding of subtraction, multiplication, and division of fractions through the use of manipulatives.
  • Science 5 shows how humans use God’s creation and design.
  • Handwriting 5 contains a variety of activities centered on the theme "Writing Around the World."

About Distance Learning DVD

BJU Press Distance Learning Online will provide your homeschooled fifth grader with a unique, excellent education. You won’t have to worry about learning gaps—our curriculum has been thoroughly researched and developed by a team of authors with experience in education as well as specific subject matters. Expert teachers will teach directly to your child and present concepts in a fun, engaging, and memorable way.

What's Included

When you purchase the Grade 5 Distance Learning DVD Kit, you receive:

  • Essential textbooks for each course. (Check the Contents tab for the full list.)
  • DVDs containing the distance learning content (you will need to return these in 13 months)
  • A Parent Guide and Student Worksheets Packet that contain all the teacher support materials and answer keys you need
  • Vacation Stations: Outback Odyssey

Although printed Teacher Editions are not included in this kit, you will have access to them by logging into your parent account. If you desire to have a printed Teacher’s Edition, please contact Customer Service for special pricing

* Unless otherwise noted, kits may not have any partial returns or substitutions.

Included Courses

Your distance learning kit includes the following by default. More details
  • thumbnail

    Bible Truths 5 DVD with Books (3rd ed.)

    Presents a chronological, thematic study of many Old and New Testament events. teaches biblical truths by studying biblical accounts, memorizing Scripture with understanding, singing hymns, and employing Bible study skills.

  • thumbnail

    Heritage Studies 5 DVD with Books (3rd ed.)

    Continues the narrative of American history from the development of the automobile in the late 1800s through the inauguration of President Obama in 2009. Topics include the invention and influence of the automobile and airplane, World War I, and more.

  • thumbnail

    English 5 DVD with Books (2nd ed.)

    Continues the grammatical study of sentences, nouns, pronouns, verbs, adjectives, adverbs, prepositions, conjunctions, and reference skills. Uses the Writing Process to write compare-contrast essays, persuasive business letters, diamantes, and more.

  • thumbnail

    Spelling 5 DVD with Books (2nd ed.)

    Builds spelling knowledge using word lists that progress to more challenging multisyllable words. Uses proofreading and writing activities to encourage a desire for accurate spelling and godly written communication.

  • thumbnail

    Reading 5 DVD with Books (2nd ed.)

    Strengthens a student’s reading, higher-level thinking skills, and critical reasoning skills. Character-building stories teach biblical principles. Vocabulary development and reading strategies enhance independent reading.

  • thumbnail

    Math 5 DVD with Books (3rd ed.)

    Emphasizes the understanding of subtraction, multiplication, and division of fractions through the use of manipulatives. Your child will gain confidence as he or she develops reasoning and judgment skills through a variety activities.

  • thumbnail

    Science 5 DVD with Books (4th ed.)

    Teaches students to think about science in light of the Creation Mandate. Students learn about minerals, fossils, matter, light, weather, ecosystems, and the human body. Students begin to appreciate the Creator as well as their own role in the world.

  • thumbnail

    Handwriting 5 DVD with Books (2nd ed.)

    Contains a variety of activities centered on the theme Writing Around the World. Mrs. Overly investigates various languages to teach interesting and pertinent facts about how people around the world write.

Printed Teacher’s Editions are not included with this kit. A complete copy of the Teacher’s Edition (formerly TE on CD) and the Teacher’s Toolkit CD as well as files for printing materials from the Teacher Support Materials CD are available by logging into your account. If you desire a printed Teacher Edition, please contact Customer Service for special pricing.

All DVD and Hard Drive Distance Learning kits now include a Parent Guide as well as a Student Worksheets Packet which have all of the teacher support materials and answer keys needed for the subject(s).

English 5 DVD with Books (2nd ed.)
Item # Title
412544Distance Learning Grade 5 English Parent Guide 2016
408997DLO Grade 5 English Student Handouts 15
273722English 5 Student Worktext (2nd ed.)
Handwriting 5 DVD with Books (2nd ed.)
Item # Title
412569Distance Learning Grade 5 Handwriting Parent Guide 2016
409011DLO Grade 5 Handwriting Student Handouts 15
271411Handwriting 5 Student Worktext (2nd ed.)

Mrs. Kristin Dunn, BS, MEd

Mrs. Kristin Dunn, a course instructor for BJU Press Distance LearningMrs. Dunn loves children and enjoys teaching them to explore new concepts. "My goal is to encourage spiritual growth as students prepare for the future. Learning is a lifelong process, and I hope to communicate the importance of learning to your student."


Mrs. Melissa Seeling, BS, MEd

Mrs. Melissa Seeling, a course instructor for BJU Press Distance LearningMelissa graduated with a bachelor's degree in Elementary Education 2008 and a master's degree in Elementary Education in 2010. Shortly after finishing graduate school, she married Hans Seeling. About a year later, she began teaching here at Press Distance Learning. “I am thankful for the opportunities that the Lord has given me, and my desire is that He will use me to impact the lives of my students. Thank you so much for giving me the opportunity to teach your child and to have a small part in your child's education. ”


Mrs. Debra Overly, BS, MS

Mrs. Debra Overly, a course instructor for BJU Press Distance LearningMrs. Overly, a mother of three, has experience teaching several elementary grades. "I want to encourage each child to look forward to learning each day and also to provide sufficient practice and review activities to help alleviate mom’s workload. Most importantly, I want to present Christ in each subject that I teach. Each child should hear the gospel and then see in a very practical way how it can change a sinner."


Mrs. Evanna Walker, BS

Mrs. Evanna Walker, a course instructor for BJU Press Distance LearningMrs. Walker has eight years’ experience teaching first grade at Bob Jones Elementary School. “My first love is to teach a child to read-primarily so that he can read God’s Word for himself and share it with others. He should be able to appreciate what he reads, draw conclusions, and make value judgments to become a thinker.”

  • Author - BJU Press Distance Learning
  • Copyright Year - 2007
  • Format - Distance Learning by DVD
  • Grade Level - 5
  • Publisher - BJU Press
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 29 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Helpful summer work I sure liked having them. It made continuing what they learned super easy. Esp since we have (in our home) three diff grades in our family. Jeremiah's did seem very easy (he was our incoming 2nd grader). But most of his school work was. Jackson found his challenging (he was our incoming 6th grader). July 31, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Amazing! Absolutely amazing! This has made our lives so much easier and my son understands so well with Mrs. Dunn. July 11, 2015
Rated 4 out of 5 by Great Value, nice review of key concepts. This is a wonderful resource for my child to review key concepts from the past year. I see essential grammar, punctuation and writing review. I also like the variety of math review. I find this product easy to jump into after the end of the school year. June 22, 2015
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Home School Resource! BJU makes home schooling comprehensive, yet simple. November 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by BJU is a great Christ centered homeschool program !!!! BJU is a great Christ centered program that is easy to follow also has great teaching and student materials. We do use the DVD program the teachers are great and make learning fun ! September 22, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by I have seen a pleasant improvement in my students grammar and writing abilities. I have been using BJU's Grade 5 English for the last two years and I have seen a pleasant improvement in my students grammar and writing abilities. My only concern is that they introduce some concepts that I feel are much more advanced than necessary for their age. The DVD is easy to follow and the two page per lesson assignment is the perfect length for practice and application. September 10, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Perfect for summer break! My daughter who will be in 6th grade is using this book this summer. It is keeping her on top of her math skills that often get lost over the summer break, and reviewing language arts as well. I rip out the weekly packet and staple it together, very easy to use. July 15, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by One of the best This workbook is really done well. My son loves this very much. Good buy! June 25, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Overall, I would recommend the DVD with books Grade 5. The academic content is very good and the dvd's are top notch quality. I really like that the DVD's are not set up classroom style but specific to my student. My son really enjoys the dvd's and is learning. The books are great and the biblical integration is outstanding. One area that could be improved on is the organization of where to find materials for each subject. It is different for each subject regarding where you will find quizzes, answers to workbook pages--sometimes you have a hardcopy of the work text sometimes you have to look on the TE CD. This makes it very difficult to know easily how to check daily work. I did get the hang of it but it took some time to know where everything is located. This could very easily be streamlined for each subject. I do prefer the TE work text in written form for ease of use. Next year I plan to have several grade levels on the DVD with books and I know I will spend a great deal of time this summer organizing and becoming familiar with where everything is located for each subject in each grade. This could be solved easily by having each subject in each grade the same in terms of where materials are located. I also would like the DVD guide printed for each subject so that I do not have to print it. There is a lot of printing on my part as a parent/teacher. I did find this easy as I put all I needed on a flash drive and took to Office Depot and had it all printed and 3 hole punched. I have a 5th grade notebook with everything in it I need. Overall, I do like this curriculum. It is pricy but I believe it is worth it. The DVD's free me up to work with another child of mine and I know my 5th grader is still getting a great education. I don't think the DVD's can be beat in terms of the sets/teachers/ etc.. We do not do every single work page or extra work. Only when needed. But I appreciate that I can print extra help in math if needed. Thank you BJU for great quality teaching materials! I do hope someone will look at the organization of each grade and subject. Making this easier on the parent will definitely help with others wanting to use the material! January 28, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by What a resource! This is our second year for buying the DVD classes. We expected them to be the same teachers for this year, but was surprised that we got different teachers for different subjects. We are loving the change to mix it up a bit. This year we got all the TE on CD's. This mama wasn't sure about that yet, but now I am really liking having it on CD. I don't have a lot of room to store all the TE and this way I just store them in my desk drawer. Amazing. I am always impressed with the content that we get when we open the workbooks. My kids are learning what people in Jesus times were eating while learning what an imperative and declarative sentence are. I love how the bible integration goes right into each subject like that. Having kids would like facts , they have benefited from facts throughout all subjects about the bible. September 5, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by The DVD's are like having our own personal tutor. My daughter is eager to watch her video and get on to her Math. If she begins her work and cannot figure out a problem, she can go back to the video and it usually clarifies what she needs to know the second time around. As a mother of multiple children, this has been a huge blessing. September 25, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Wish we would have found BJU sooner!! We have homeschooled for over three years and have had a rough time, even giving up at one point for the local charter school. This year we have discovered BJU distant learning and WE ARE LOVING IT!! So much pressure off of me to do the teaching and now I can cheerlead!! My only warning about the curriculum that I have found as a negative is that after paying such a hefty amount there is still a ton of copying needing to be done, not sure why this cannot be included with the package, we sure payed for it! Other than that we are so glad we have found BJU and hope this will take us through all our school years! September 21, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by dvd program We switched over to Bob Jones last year from another curriculum and have enjoyed it very much. Last year was great and there was really nothing that we disliked about the curriculum. The teacher on the DVD are wonderful in teaching and my daughter excelled. This year, there is no answer keys for assignments that this is the first year that Bob Jones has parents/teachers use the CD Rom to correct answers. This has made it more difficult for me to help my child. What happens if my child is in the middle of the lesson, I eject the DVD then place CD to get an answer to the problem. When I put the DVD back to play, we have to find our spot again. I know you can pay extra for the keys but I have all ready paid for the whole class. I would recommend to have the option to have the CD Rom or answer keys. We still want to continue using Bob Jones. My kids love it and having fun while learning. September 10, 2013
Rated 2 out of 5 by Overwhelmed I have been homeschooling for 7 years and used many curriculums in the past. This year I have a 5th grader and was hoping to use the BJU Distance Learning Math, English, Spelling, and Reading to help lessen my load so I could devote more one on a one to my younger students. However, I am flabbergasted by the amount of prep work these courses require. I spent 6 hours and a ream of paper trying to get JUST the Math curriculum together in order to get started. Then, I am constantly encountering more prep work (printing extra pages, assembling manipulatives, referring to the video guide and tool kit cd etc.) every few lessons. I am very disappointed that BJU does not provide everything needed already printed and assembled in the order of the lessons. I think the lessons themselves are good, but the ease of use is extremely lacking. Overall, I find this curriculum quite frustrating, and requiring as much time as if I just customized the lesson plans and taught it myself. September 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Decision This is my first year using BJU and it has been a wonderful experience. The videos are top notch and the teaching is phenomenal. The lessons are interesting, engaging, thorough, thought-provoking, Biblically-based and FUN (lessons are taught using graphics, experiments, "field trips," puppets and special guests). My son actually gets excited to do work, especially with science and math. This makes me very happy because he wants to learn. BJU has definitely made my life a little easier with three children. With the dvd program, I let the teachers teach and I'm there if they need extra help. The curriculum includes a detailed schedule of what needs to be done everyday. This way, my children are able to work independently as I monitor. Thank you BJU! July 3, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by More money+more work for Mom=Less textbooks! Seriously? Very disappointed with this year's order. NO TEACHER books included...they came on separate disc! Not user friendly and I have spent a fortune on paper and ink to print off all needed materials to aid my children. Put folks back to work printing those teacher books. It would be a win/win situation. August 7, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Disappointed...not as much for my money We have used BJU press for many years and use the full subjects with DVD. I do like the DVD's and my kids like them, HOWEVER, you make too much work for the teacher after I have spent $1000 ! I do not like the teacher books on disc....too hard to put disc in and out of computer to check daily schoolwork. I do not like the fact that I have to print EVERY SINGLE piece of paper myself for extra practice, needed papers and handouts used on dvd. I am not sure why you still charge the same money as years passed, but I am not getting the same paperwork or text books. Very disappointed with this years' order. August 7, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful and with an unexpected surprise. My son needed extra encouragement and review to start 6th grade well. We began using Vacation Station almost under his antagonism. Although the tasks were interesting and actractively presented, he found the study a challenge. The long, hard work got easier over the summer and he was among the top of his class at the beginning of 6th grade! Our surprise was his ASKING, almost pleading to get a siimilar program to help him bridge from 6th to 7th. June 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great books We have been using Vacation Stations for 10 years and have found them useful with each grade change. March 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by love Bob Jones curriculum! We use math, reading & English grades 3-5 and really love all of it. We used online and now use the videos. February 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by we love Bob Jones curriculum! grades 3-5 math English math and reading both children really love it! February 12, 2013
  • 2016-10-25 T10:30:32.793-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_29, tr_29
  • loc_en_US, sid_352435_10151, prod, sort_default
© 2016 BJU Press