Schools  |  Homeschools

 Sign In

Blog
Meetings
  Upgrade to DLO for $99 until Jan. 23 See details►  

Grade 10 DVD with Books

352450
Grade 10 DVD with Books

Step 1: Choose Format

OnlineDVD

Step 2: Include textbooks and tests?

YesNo

Step 3: Choose Elective(s) and Customize Your Kit (optional)

 
 

Customize up to two courses per grade level.

When you are finished customizing please click "Add to Cart." Elective courses do not count against total substitutions.

 
 
 
 
 
Reset   Customize
$879.00


Grade 10 for Distance Learning

Lease a Grade 10 DVD Kit and get access to all the following Distance Learning courses:

  • World History helps your student see historical events from Creation to the present in the light of God's Word.
  • Writing & Grammar 10 continues to develop the student's grammar skills, emphasizing parts of speech, sentence patterns, phrases, clauses, and correct usage of verbs, pronouns, and modifiers.
  • Elements of Literature teaches the elements of literature—imaginative comparisons, devices of sound, allusion, symbol, and irony—by studying primarily American and British authors.
  • Geometry begins with the foundational principles, introducing logic as a basis for proofs, and continues through standard topics such as polygons, circles, measurement, transformations and symmetry, and an introduction to trigonometry.
  • Biology teaches cell biology, genetics, the history of life, taxonomy, microbiology, botany, zoology, ecology, and human anatomy and physiology in a God-honoring way.

About Distance Learning DVD

BJU Press Distance Learning DVD will provide your homeschooled tenth grader with a unique, excellent education. You won’t have to worry about learning gaps—our curriculum has been thoroughly researched and developed by a team of authors with experience in education as well as specific subject matters. Expert teachers will teach directly to your child and present concepts in a fun, engaging, and memorable way.

What's Included

When you purchase the Grade 10 Distance Learning DVD Kit, you receive:

  • Essential textbooks for each course. (Check the Contents tab for the full list.)
  • DVDs containing the distance learning content (you will need to return these in 13 months)
  • A Parent Guide and Student Worksheets Packet that contain all the teacher support materials and answer keys you need

Although printed Teacher Editions are not included in this kit, you will have access to them by logging into your bjupresshomeschool.com account. If you desire to have a printed Teacher’s Edition, please contact Customer Service for special pricing.

* Unless otherwise noted, kits may not have any partial returns or substitutions.

Included Courses

Your distance learning kit includes the following by default. More details
  • thumbnail

    World History DVD with Books (4th ed.)

    Distance Learning DVD course taught by Mr. Murphy that teaches students about the history of civilizations from creation to the modern day.

  • thumbnail

    Writing & Grammar 10 DVD with Books (4th ed.)

    Continues to develop the student's grammar skills, emphasizing parts of speech, sentence patterns, phrases, clauses, and correct usage of verbs, pronouns, and modifiers.

  • thumbnail

    Elements of Literature 10 DVD with Books (2nd ed.)

    Elements of Literature divides the basic components of literature into the two broad divisions of marks and modes (comparisons, sound, syntax, allusion, symbol, and irony) and the genres of literature (folklore, essays, short stories, poetry and drama.)

  • thumbnail

    Geometry DVD with Books (3rd ed.)

    A foundation for geometry is laid through the introduction of undefined terms, definitions, and incidence theorems. Subsets and measurements are covered. Other topics covered are area, circles, space, volume, and more.

  • thumbnail

    Biology DVD with Books (4th ed.)

    Mrs. Ericson teaches cell biology, genetics, the history of life, taxonomy, microbiology, botany, zoology, ecology, and human anatomy and physiology. Includes DVDs, essential textbooks, as well as a Parent Guide and a Student Worksheets Packet.

Printed Teacher’s Editions are not included with this kit. A complete copy of the Teacher’s Edition (formerly TE on CD) and the Teacher’s Toolkit CD as well as files for printing materials from the Teacher Support Materials CD are available by logging into your account. If you desire a printed Teacher Edition, please contact Customer Service for special pricing.

All DVD and Hard Drive Distance Learning kits now include a Parent Guide as well as a Student Worksheets Packet which have all of the teacher support materials and answer keys needed for the subject(s).


Geometry DVD with Books (3rd ed.)
Item # Title
281592Geometry Student Text (3rd ed.)
412825Distance Learning Grade 10 Geometry Parent Guide 2017
419283Distance Learning Grade 10 Geometry Handouts 3rd ed. 2017
363580DL GEOMETRY DVD MOD 09
Also Includes
Item # Title
420240Grade 10 Video Lesson Guide 17

Mrs. Ginger Ericson, BS, MAT

Mrs. Ginger Ericson, a course instructor for BJU Press Distance LearningMrs. Ericson gained her love of science from her own high school biology teacher. After earning a bachelor’s degree in biology from Bob Jones University in 1999, she went on to complete a master’s degree in secondary education. It was also at BJU that she met her husband, Geof, who teaches social studies at Bob Jones Academy. Mrs. Ericson has been a part of BJU Press Distance Learning for over 15 years. While she was finishing her education, she served as an assistant to the biology teacher before coming on as a part of the science faculty. She hopes that through science, her students will see the glory and power of their Creator God and desire to serve Him with their whole heart.

 

Mr. Timothy Snow, BA, MS

Mr. Timothy Snow, a course instructor for BJU Press Distance LearningMr. Snow grew up in a pastor’s home that encouraged service for Christ and saw the need for a solid, Christian education. His parents often sacrificed to see that each of their children was in a Christian school or that they were homeschooled with Christian curriculum. After earning a Bachelor’s degree in history and a Master’s degree in secondary education, he began teaching in Christian schools. In the past twenty years he has served as a Christian school teacher and principal, and God has allowed him to instruct students in history, grammar, literature, and Bible. Mr. Snow also enjoys reading and he is always in search of new books or stories to read. In Explorations in Literature, Mr. Snow desires to pass along his passion for a solid Christian education as well as his love of reading and understanding literature.

 

Mrs. Tammie Genco, BS, MEd

Mrs. Tammie Genco, a course instructor for BJU Press Distance LearningMrs. Tammie Genco was blessed to grow up in a Christian home. The Lord gave her the grace to believe on Him as her Savior when she was in kindergarten. Since then the Lord has faithfully guided her steps. She attended BJU and obtained an undergraduate and a master's degree in education. She began working at BJU Press Distance Learning as an assistant and later as an algebra teacher. During that time she met her husband, Tom. They were married in May 2002. Mrs. Genco likes monster trucks, theater, mountains, roller coasters, and teenagers. Her desire for her Algebra and Geometry students is that they will be better equipped to serve Christ after this class.

 

Mr. Michael Murphy, BA, MEd

Mr. Michael Murphy, a course instructor for BJU Press Distance LearningMichael Murphy has a bachelor’s degree in history as well as a master’s degree in education with a history emphasis. He has taught World History, United States History, World Geography, and Bible in a traditional classroom for many years. He enjoys coaching mock trial, doing public address at sporting events, and playing golf. But most of all, he enjoys history—both the big themes and little details--and he hopes his students will too as he effectively communicates the course content and infuses a lot of fun into the process.

 
  • Author - BJU Press Distance Learning
  • Format - Distance Learning by DVD
  • Grade Level - 10
  • Publisher - BJU Press

Other items you may want...

Item Price
Biology Dissection Kit (4th ed.) $62.00
Grade 10 DVD with Books is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 31.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! This was our first year to use BJU materials. The Grade 10 DVD with the textbooks is wonderful! My husband and I home school our 3 children, ages 15 and twins who are 11. I have struggled in the past coming up with a curriculum that worked as well as the BJU distance learning does. The ease of use and teacher materials makes my life so much easier and my son looks forward to watching his videos and digging into his subjects. Everything is so organized and I appreciate all the effort that has been put into the teacher materials! This along with the student handbooks, textbooks and lesson plans helps to keep us on track. Just knowing that my 15 yr old son is receiving such a wonderful education makes this one happy mom! I would recommend this to a first time homeschooling parent to one who has been homeschooling for awhile and just hasn't been able to find the right curriculum for their students. Thank you BJU!
Date published: 2016-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful Curriculum! For the most part, our daughter is enjoying 10th grade. Her favorite class is World History with Mr. Murphy and Bible with Mr. Mendoza. Grammar and literature are not as interesting for her. Many times, the teacher does not seem very engaged or excited about what he is teaching. We are comparing, of course, to one of our favorite teachers of the past, Mrs. Vick. We do miss her this year! However, overall, the curriculum is great and we are pleased with what our daughter is learning.
Date published: 2016-10-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Struggles with homeschooling I love the content and academic excellence but I have not found it to be new user friendly. I also came in partway thru the semester. My struggles as the administrator have been with the varied numbers of day, lesson and another. Some DVDs have 3 sets of numbers and some do not. It is hard to make lesson plans and be concise in giving them to my student. Also some courses come with tests packs and some are in the teacher material. Why not be the same with all. Also in some the student handouts are in a packet and in others the handouts are the teacher materials. My student has been frustrated with the dvd cases. They are consistently falling apart when getting out the next DVDs- 3-ring binder part not strong enough.
Date published: 2016-01-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 10th grade dvd and book are well worth the investment. We have used BJUpress for several years and have never been disappointed by the teachers or the curriculum. The World History and Biology classes are phenomenal. The Grammar & Writing classes really challenge the student but are also easy to understand. I do feel that the geometry class DVDs need updated as a lot of class time is wasted on iru explanation and use of.
Date published: 2015-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Love the material! Easy and my daughter is learning a lot...she is in 10th grade homeschool.
Date published: 2015-10-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 10th grade The only thing we didn't like is that Geometry was a style when the students call in their questions. (Spanish class was also like this) My daughter feels like it is a waste of time waiting for all those calls - and doesn't enjoy that type of class. 10th grade dvd
Date published: 2015-08-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT CURRICULUM! I chose to go with BJU DVDs all across the board. I am VERY pleased with quality in every subject. I find though, Geometry takes time to get through. (We have to wait for students to input their answers through the IRU.) Miss Genco has students interact through their IRUs which is time consuming for us, since that does not apply to us. Although we can appreciate when students ask questions as we can not, and that often will answer questions we have! I really like how EVERY subject is presented through a Biblical point. I do not think I could go back to any other curriculum! I only wish I would have started with BJU.
Date published: 2014-11-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pleased with how organized the curriculum was this year. I have been using Bob Jones for both of my sons. One of my sons graduated high school using Bob Jones since he was in 6th grade. He got a high score on his SAT and I was very pleased knowing that he got a great education with Bob Jones material. I also am so pleased with how the papers are already printed this year and how they are organized. This has been the best and easiest year for me to oversee my sons work. I have 2 more years of high school with my last child and I am thankful for such a great, godly curriculum!
Date published: 2014-10-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from we like the DVD's and books We have been using this system since 4th Grade and now she is in 10th Grade. She has always made really good scores on SAT's and we credit the Bob Jones curriculum.
Date published: 2014-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful material... The material is wonderful. Our girls have enjoyed doing each of the classes. The only complaint I have would be that it is a little difficult finding exactly which books contain tests, quizzes,etc. For example, we still have not found quiz 1 for Bible, but I have the answers for three of the questions in my teacher manual? It would be easier if the teacher manual listed books/page #'s of where to find material.
Date published: 2014-08-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from All classes are very good except geometry. Love all the classes and material! My 15 yr.old son does very well at mastering the material presented to him with the BJU 10th grade DVD kit. He just prefers learning geometry on his own rather than wasting time with the other incoming questions from other students. Thanks for asking.
Date published: 2014-08-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic program We have been using BJU for 5 years now and are so appreciative of the excellence and quality of their programs, Year 10 is no different...my daughter loves the teaching and the enthusiasm of the teachers. I love the standard of work and the way the teachers lay such a good biblical foundation and basis for thinking in each subject.
Date published: 2014-03-18
Rated 3 out of 5 by from needs improvement The text is well done and I would purchase it again. However, the expense for the DVD set is terribly outdated and boring. It is also difficult to use with grading the materials. I am disappointed and really hoping for something much better.
Date published: 2013-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from textbooks on DVD Hate, hate, hate having the teacher editions on disk. I have 3 disks for Writing and Grammar alone that I have to pop in and out of my computer drive just to correct/check homework and quizzes. And the textbook is hard to view on a computer screen. Maybe it's formatted for tablets? There must be an easier way to streamline this.
Date published: 2013-09-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 10th Grade I am disappointed the 10th grade Biology is not updated. The DVDs go back to 2006 and much time is WASTED while the teacher waits for LINC students to respond to a system that no longer exists. PLEASE update your DVDs.
Date published: 2013-09-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from 10th Grade Biology I was disappointed to see CDs instead of an actual book. Our PC doesn't always work so if there's no physical teacher's edition I can't help my child right away. And it's not so great to navigate thru the CD. I do understand it's probably more cost effective. We love, love, love Miss Lacy for Biology - very personable. She's trying very hard to speak on the students' level. Mr. Harmon was funny and we loved him but Miss Lacy is even better, if that's possible! Carly really likes her World History teacher Mr. Swingle - he's calm and "even keal." He doesn't do all the work for them yet helps them study by reviewing the test, making sure you understand the material. He has a small sense of humor she likes. And, yes, we ALWAYS appreciate the emphasis on the authority of God's Word in our learning and world. Never compromise on that. Thanks, Joy and Carly Weiss
Date published: 2013-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Curriculum After trying another curriculm last year, I was happy to return to BJUP. I thought I could get by using something that cost less, but I found out that you get what you pay for. I'm so grateful to have the video support for teaching subjects such as Algebra and Biology. Having the benefits that homeschooling provides, combined with having a teacher to help in the learning process, meets our goals just the way we hoped it would. We definitely appreciate the integration of Biblical standards that we can support, as well.
Date published: 2013-09-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thrilled with 10th grade DVDs! BJU's distance learning teachers enthrall my student and help her to grasp and retain information. I'm happy with the academic scope and sequence, and I love having other adults coach my student in her spiritual growth. BJU's distance learning has made it possible for me to homeschool without burn- out and while still maintaining control of my students' education.
Date published: 2013-08-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good product, some value and use issues I've been using BJU distance curriculum for 5 years, going into our 6th. While I do like the quality and level of instruction for the student, there are a few issues for the parent that still need to be resolved. Finding information on the teacher CD's can still be an exercise in frustration. Price increases based on inflation I can understand, but increases while DECREASING the materials I do not. My child is taking 7 classes this year from the kit, and the tests for only 3 of those were included, not to mention the CD's instead of teacher books. If I'm providing so much physical material and printing costs, shouldn't the price reflect that?
Date published: 2013-08-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Geometry My child is only on day 3, but I don't like the extra introductions on how to use the other programs. I think this should have been customized to dvd only. Especially with the cost and it seems outdated.
Date published: 2013-08-20
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Previous User Not As Satisfied I have used BJU for several years with both my children. I feel the curriculum teaches the student how to take notes, listen to lectures, and most importantly the curriculum prepares the child for college. What I find disappointing is that the teacher text editions are now on CD. Personally I dislike that you can't see the entire page at a glance. It is difficult to teach, view the textbook page, and see the teaching material in the side margins. The price should be reduced since there are less books & more and more of the curriculum, tests, etc. need to be printed out.
Date published: 2013-08-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I am rating on shipping due to school year not started yet The shipment was suppose to take up to 3 weeks and I got mine in 4 days:) very happy with the quick service everything looks great, excited to get started
Date published: 2013-05-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good Christian Based Curriculum The product that was ordered is the10th grade Distance Learning Kit that includes the necessary student and teacher books. U.S. History was substituted for World History. It is so easy to use the DVD series for the instruction part of our day.
Date published: 2013-04-18
  • y_2018, m_1, d_21, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.6
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_352450_10151, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=FEATURED, direction=DESCENDING), SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_bobjonesuniversitypress
© 2018 BJU Press