Schools  |  Homeschools

Grade 1 DVD with Books

Grade 1 DVD with Books

Customize up to two courses per grade level.

When you are finished customizing please click "Add to Cart." Elective courses do not count against total substitutions.

Reset Customize my kit

Grade 1 for Distance Learning

Lease a Grade 1 DVD Kit and get access to all the following Distance Learning courses:

  • Bible Truths 1 helps your first grader to know the Bible through a thematic, chronological study of the Old and New Testaments, to trust God and to apply His principles in their everyday life.
  • Heritage Studies 1 introduces your child to fundamental concepts related to geography, economics, and culture, within the context of American history from pre-Columbus days through the time of the pilgrims in 1682.
  • Phonics and English 1 directs your student in their continuing development of understanding word meanings, and communicating effectively.
  • Spelling 1 uses the recall-study-recall-study-recall learning method to teach word structure to your first grader.
  • Math 1 places an emphasis on understanding mathematical concepts through the study of manipulatives while touching on the abstract.
  • Science 1 gives the student an understanding of the concepts of gravity, force, plants, states of matter, animals, teeth, sound, and weather.

About Distance Learning DVD

BJU Press Distance Learning on DVD will provide your homeschooled first grader with a unique, excellent education. You won’t have to worry about learning gaps—our curriculum has been thoroughly researched and developed by a team of authors with experience in education as well as specific subject matters. Expert teachers will teach directly to your child and present concepts in a fun, engaging, and memorable way.

What's Included

When you purchase the Grade 1 Distance Learning DVD Kit, you receive:

  • DVDs containing the distance learning content (you will need to return these in 13 months)
  • Essential textbooks for each course. (Check the Contents tab for the full list.)
  • Parent Guide and Student Worksheets Packet that contain all the teacher support materials and answer keys you need
  • Vacation Stations: Wheels Westward

Although printed Teacher Editions are not included in this kit, you will have access to them by logging into your account. If you desire to have a printed Teacher’s Edition, please contact Customer Service for special pricing.

* Unless otherwise noted, kits may not have any partial returns or substitutions.

Included Courses

Your distance learning kit includes the following by default. More details

Printed Teacher’s Editions are not included with this kit. A complete copy of the Teacher’s Edition (formerly TE on CD) and the Teacher’s Toolkit CD as well as files for printing materials from the Teacher Support Materials CD are available by logging into your account. If you desire a printed Teacher Edition, please contact Customer Service for special pricing.

All DVD and Hard Drive Distance Learning kits now include a Parent Guide as well as a Student Worksheets Packet which have all of the teacher support materials and answer keys needed for the subject(s).

Spelling 1 DVD with Books (2nd ed.)
Item # Title
400119Distance Learning Grade 1 Spelling Parent Guide 2014
401067Distance Learning Grade 1 Spelling Student Worksheets 2014
278481Spelling 1 Student Worktext (2nd ed.)

Mrs. Sarah Lawson, BS

Mrs. Sarah Lawson, a course instructor for BJU Press Distance LearningMrs. Lawson previously taught kindergarten for four years. "One of my goals in teaching is to help your child feel successful at his present level and to encourage him to improve. Throughout the lessons, we talk about simple yet extremely important concepts, such as ‘God made me special,’ and ‘God gave me the Bible.’ I enjoy talking about these things with the children through the lessons. I wanted to be a teacher from the time I was a little girl, and I’m thankful to the Lord for letting me teach your child through this Distance Learning program."


Mrs. Andrea Lindstrom Hall, BS

Miss Andrea Lindstrom, a course instructor for BJU Press Distance LearningMrs. Hall (formerly Miss Lindstrom) has three years’ experience teaching in a first-grade classroom. "Ever since I was a little girl, I have loved school and loved learning. It is exciting to work with young children because they are naturally curious and are interested in many things. I want to encourage a child’s natural curiosity, and I want to develop in him a desire to learn for life. I want him to learn not just to acquire knowledge but to use his knowledge to serve and honor the Lord."


Miss Tara Liston, BA, MAT

Mrs. Tara Liston, a course instructor for BJU Press Distance LearningMiss Liston has experience working with children from primary to high school. “Teaching is a joy. I am thrilled to have the opportunity to impact children’s lives with the hope of encouraging a growing relationship with the Lord. I love teaching, and I hope my enthusiasm will give your child a love for learning.”


Mrs. Kari Amato, BS, MAT

Mrs. Kari Amato, a course instructor for BJU Press Distance LearningMrs. Amato has taught on the high school level and has been involved with primary-age children for over six years. Teaching is a great joy for her, and she loves learning new ways to instruct others. Her goal for each child is that he would come to know Christ personally in salvation and be changed to greater Christlikeness through his understanding of the Scriptures. "I thank the Lord for the opportunity to teach His Word to such moldable and precious young lives. I am also grateful to the Lord for enabling me by His grace to work in such a ministry."


Mrs. Evanna Walker, BS

Mrs. Evanna Walker, a course instructor for BJU Press Distance LearningMrs. Walker has eight years’ experience teaching first grade at Bob Jones Elementary School. “My first love is to teach a child to read-primarily so that he can read God’s Word for himself and share it with others. He should be able to appreciate what he reads, draw conclusions, and make value judgments to become a thinker.”

  • Author - BJU Press Distance Learning
  • Copyright Year - 2007
  • Format - Distance Learning by DVD
  • Grade Level - 1
  • Publisher - BJU Press
Rated 4.7 out of 5 by 25 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Overall we are happy! I love that it's colorful and fun! I like the hands on and manipulatives . Sometimes I feel it's a little too easy and out dated. I don't want to skip anything though? I like that the teachers packet and worksheets are already printed for you now. Last year it was hard to look for whatever sheet or copier isn't working or out of paper? ;( so that has been a lot better!! Thank you!;) September 9, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Looking forward to 1st Grade! Overall I am very pleased with 1st Grad BJU DVD's program. The teachers are excellent and use a variety of activities, fun worksheets, stories, puppets, and examples. It is different each day, so the kids don't get bored with doing the same worksheets everyday. The videos are fairly up to date and my child loves them. Lots of Bible Integration through out all the subjects and excellent academics. Looking forward to a great year! August 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Got my kid academically sharp while still enjoying summer. August 8, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Book! This book will help kids review the skills they learned in first grade. The assignments are short, the explanations are clear, and the "Western" theme is fun! July 18, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Works for us I find that the Vacation Stations is a reasonable amount of work each day to keep the start of school from being too challenging. The concepts are consistent with where my child was in their learning from their grade. July 11, 2014
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent teaching and materials! This is an outstanding curriculum! We greatly appreciate the emphasis that BJU Press places on deep learning rather than just surface learning. For example, the 1st grade reading does not just teach the student to decode phonetics. It does an excellent job teaching reading comprehension. All of the teachers do a wonderful job explaining and illustrating the material. They are obviously very experienced teachers. They have become a loved part of our child's life. The DVDs do not just show a teacher standing and lecturing. They include endless visual objects, puppets, crafts, and pictorial and video tours of interesting things related to the lesson. The lessons are very interesting to watch! We are very thankful for the godly manner of the teachers, and the well thought out integration of the Bible into the lessons. All of the student materials are of very good quality. The work text papers are interesting and visually appealing. The materials are well laid out for the parent facilitating this curriculum. I found it very helpful that each subject comes with an orientation lesson for the parent to watch in which the teacher explains how the lessons will work and how to have all the materials prepared for the student each day. And there is a lesson plan for each day of each subject (called the Mom's Minutes) that is very helpful in being ready for each day. April 21, 2014
Rated 2 out of 5 by Waste of time and money I purchased this curriculum, thinking that it would be great for my daughter to use the DVD lessons because I was very busy with my 2-year-old special needs son. I had a HORRIBLE experience with this program! There is so much time wasted in the lessons on DVD and I ended up having to explain it all to her again and walk her through her work texts. Also, there are WAY too many crafts incorporated into the lessons, which wastes a lot of time and money purchasing the craft materials you'll need. In addition to all of this, the program had false information regarding the Catholic church, of which I am a devout member. I understand this isn't a Catholic program, but the information was actually FALSE! I will never use Bob Jones again for any of my children, nor would I recommend it to anyone. August 31, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by better viewed on smaller tv 5 stars for the academics, Bible integration, etc is excellent. Lots of teacher for the $$. Getting phonics, reading, handwriting & composition. Great value! I was really hoping to show the class on our 29" tv, but the picture comes out rather pixelated (is a new tv). When I played it on our computer screen it was just fine. Disappointed takes to 4 September 5, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome We love the BJU materials! I was so nervous about homeschooling, but Bob Jones makes it easy! August 14, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Summer Fun Review My 7 year old son really loves this workbook! He gets great satisfaction when he colors a barn for the days page as completed. Then proudly takes the page to Dad to sign off and admire the great work he accomplished. He reads more books to fill in stars (we made our own summer reading prize program). He is excited to do the pages and will complete extra pages because he says it is more fun than his school work was. Thank you for this great book that engages his boy imagination and gives him great confidence in what he has learned. July 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 The Best Homeschool Program!! This was my first year homeschooling my twins. I cannot say enough good things about this program! I researched a lot of programs before finally deciding on BJU's dvd program. It was different and I thought my twin boys would do well with the "one on one' format. It completely exceeded my expectations!! I love that each class has a different teacher and a different feel. The books and textbooks are first class and there are a lot of teacher/parent supports. The Bible in included in every class and lesson. I would recommend buying the Printed Teacher Support Materials....I photo copied A LOT! I didn't buy those for 1st grade, but I will be for 2nd grade. All in all...I have recommend this dvd program to everyone I know that homeschools or would like to homeschool. My boys just got tested and they are above their grade because of BJU Distant Learning Program! May 8, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Excellent Product!! This is my first year home schooling and I loved this curriculum!!! I have other children and will DEFINITELY use this same program for them!!! I loved how the Bible was talked about throughout each subject. The teachers were really good too. Also had lots of fun interactive projects including cooking stuff and a spanish lesson!! June 6, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by DVD curriculum Overall, the curriculum is very good. Two things I wish will be improved is the volume of the disc when played in the computer. It is hardly discernible. Secondly, to get to a specific part of part the lesson you have to rewind the disc all the way through to get to a specific part which is very time-consuming. June 1, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Excellent summer program!! I was very pleased to see that BJU offers a summer program. It takes just about 10 to 15 mins a day and my twin boys love the flow and look of the book. It is designed to be fun and they don't even realize that it is really "school work". I highly recommend this as a summer bridge to get started for the next school year! May 30, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Homeschooling with peace of mind I've been a homeschooling mom now for 6 years. I started when my oldest daughter was going in the ninth grade. I tried many different homeschooling methods and many different curriculum products. I found myself at my wits end trying to pull everything together and with some methods I was going crazy trying to figure out what to teach when and how. My daughter has since graduated home high school but I have another child who just started first grade. I was once again trying something different and once again found myself frazzled. In the middle of the so called school year I started researching more ways to homeschool and came across BJU press via Ken Ham's endorsement. I was leaning towards a distance learning program and after many weeks of contemplating and reading about BJU homeschool distance learning, I took the dive. I am so glad I did! I finally feel like something is working. I just don't have the time to sit down and teach my son the core education he needs. With the distance learning program, I have become only the teachers helper which is such a RELIEF for me. I love how BJU set up a daily schedule that lists all the materials I will need for that day. I don't have to hunt through each teachers manual to find such crucial information. The best part is my son is receiving a strong biblical education. I am very pleased! If you feel overwhelmed, do try distance learning. I rated the quality of this product only four stars because some of the DVD's have a low picture quality. You can still see everything, it's just a nuisance being slightly blurry. I'm not even viewing them on a high def tv. P.S. I love Mr's Walker and her teaching tips February 28, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Wonderful resource! Although we haven't used this book yet as it is meant to use over the summer we are looking forward to using it!! It is an excellent resource to keep our daughter on track with her academic skills. We know how easy it is to lose aptitude on skills not used frequently so we know this book will be so beneficial!! It looks like it has enough fun elements included to make it less like school work and more like summer fun while yet helping our daughter to retain and sharpen the academic skills she has learned in 1st grade. Looking forward to using it!! Hope to purchase these every summer! April 10, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very pleased with this purchase This curriculum saved my sanity when we had a new addition to the family who joined us by adoption. Her needs were detrimental to my ability to work with my older daughter. My daughter now has a wonderful teacher that she loves to listen to on the DVDs. She feels like she knows Mrs. Walker personally and is happy to do everything she says. I am still able to oversee the process and help with homework so I can enjoy having a part in the education of my older child without being overwhelmed by the needs of the little one. February 12, 2013
  • 2015-10-09T07:19:13.678-05:00
  • bvseo_lps, prod_bvrr, vn_prr_5.6
  • cp-2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_25, tr_25
  • loc_en_US, sid_352427_10151, prod, sort_default